Contact Us



call us888-U-COUNT-2


Sangamon County Government Facility Injury Lawyer

Peoria County public property injury lawyers

Attorneys for Accidents on Public Property in Springfield, Champaign, Bloomington, and Decatur

Serious injuries can occur in a wide variety of situations, and victims who are injured due to someone else's negligence may be able to take legal action to receive financial compensation. However, personal injury claims can become more complex in cases where injuries occurred on public property or at facilities owned by a city, state, or county, or the federal government. In these situations, victims can increase their chances of success by working with a lawyer who is experienced in addressing cases involving government liability.

The attorneys of Kanoski Bresney have been providing representation to injury victims for over 40 years, and we are one of the few law firms in central Illinois that has extensive experience in premises liability cases involving accidents and injuries on public property. We have obtained a total of more than $400 million for our clients, and we are prepared to fight on your behalf to make sure you are repaid for all of the ways you and your family have been affected by your injury.

Legal Issues in Government Facility Accidents

A wide variety of different types of injuries can occur on public property, including:

  • Slip and fall accidents at a county courthouse, sports arena, or public library.
  • Drowning or other injuries at a public swimming pool due to inadequate lifeguard training.
  • Injuries to children due to defective playground equipment at a public park.
  • Accidents caused by unsafe conditions at a public school or college campus.
  • Assaults that occur because of inadequate lighting or negligent security at a public parking garage.
  • Accidents that take place because of failure to warn visitors about hazards at a state or national park.
  • Injuries suffered by pedestrians due to falling objects, defective machinery, or other hazards at a construction site on government property.

While victims may be able to pursue compensation through a personal injury claim, the requirements that must be met and the procedures that must be followed may be different in cases involving government facilities. While lawsuits against private companies or individuals can be pursued within two years after an injury occurred, claims against local, state, or federal government entities must typically be filed within one year. In these types of claims, victims may only be able to pursue compensation for economic damages, such as medical expenses and lost income, rather than non-economic damages such as pain and suffering.

Victims may also need to meet a higher burden of proof when pursuing compensation for accidents on public property. Rather than demonstrating that an injury was caused by negligence, a victim may need to show that they suffered harm due to "willful and wanton" conduct that showed a reckless disregard for public safety.

Contact Our Champaign County Government Property Injury Attorneys

If you have been injured in an accident that took place in a government-owned building or on public property, Kanoski Bresney can help you take the right steps to receive the financial compensation you need. We will help you gather the evidence to demonstrate that a government entity is liable for your injuries, and we will make sure you meet all legal requirements when filing a claim. We can also help identify any other parties who may have been responsible for your injury, such as manufacturers of defective products or companies with government contracts that did not follow the correct safety procedures while performing work. We will do everything we can to make sure your family is made whole following your injury.

To learn more about how our attorneys can provide you with respect, response, and results, contact us today at 888-U-COUNT-2 or 888-826-8682 to set up a free consultation. We assist with injuries at government facilities throughout Illinois, including Sangamon County, Adams County, Champaign County, Macon County, McLean County, Schuyler County, Champaign, Peoria County, Macomb, Pekin, Decatur, McDonough County, Quincy, Peoria, Springfield, Bloomington, Rushville, and Tazewell County.

Back to Top